American Idol's Paige Miles Loves Singing And Rescuing Dogs!

001749665

Although Naples, Fla., native Paige Miles got eliminated from American Idol last week, she and fellow bootee Lacey Brown hope to get an apartment in L.A. soon to continue pursuing their musical dreams. Until then, the 24-year-old pre-school teacher can’t wait to get back home to Houston to see her dogs, and save some, too.

“I love dogs and I’m very involved in animal rescue,” Miles “Laila is a Newfoundland mix and a rescue I got two years ago. I have another Shih Tzu mix, or something-mix, we don’t really know – that I got a year ago, plus I have tons of dogs in and out so I always have a lot of dogs at home.”

While home in Houston, Miles spends weekends working with local Petco and PetSmart stores to hold adopt-a-thons for shelter animals that need to be adopted. “I also foster,” Miles says, “which means when we are at a kill space or just need to put a dog some place really quickly, I’ll just bring the dogs home and take care of them until we can find them permanent homes.” Miles also volunteers to clean shelters. “It’s a non-profit so everything we get is from donations and volunteer work,” she adds. “I just love dogs so whatever I can do to help, I’ll do.”

Miles says of the work of her fellow rescue volunteers, “We have so many stories. We have people who have taken in dogs that might otherwise have been put down. In Texas, the Humane Societies are kill shelters, whereas in Florida, they are no-kill, so it’s very sad to me. But there are great volunteers, especially in the Cypress, Texas, area who will drive miles and miles and hours and hours to rescue dogs.”

Needless to say, “I can’t wait to see my dogs,” Miles says. “I haven’t seen my dogs in months and they go crazy. I was like, ‘Mom, can I Skype the dogs?’ She was like, ‘well, if I can get them to stand still!’ “

(source)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

