World's Ugliest Dog Dies….:(

The ‘World’s Ugliest Dog’ has died at age 17 following a career in show business. Miss Ellie, a small, bug-eyed Chinese Crested Hairless dog whose pimples and lolling tongue helped her win Animal Planet’s “World’s Ugliest Dog” contest in 2009, died according to reports on Thursday.The Mountain Press reported that Ellie starred in shows at the Comedy Barn in Pigeon Forge.

She also appeared on US TV’s Animal Planet cable show “Dogs 101” and was on billboards and in a commercial.Pigeon Forge Mayor Keith Whaley proclaimed Nov. 12 as “Miss Ellie Day” for her owner’s efforts to raise money for the local humane society. Over the years, Ellie helped raise more than $100,000 for the Sevier County Humane Society.
More

56 Year Old Woman Wrestles 8-ft. Python To Save Dog

Brenda van Bovene’s Monday was punctuated by screams. First, the screams of her 11-year-old Australian silky terrier Tammy, then by her own shrill cries — so loud that a neighbor across the street heard them through his ear buds as he listened to his iPod.

Van Bovene heard Tammy crying in a terrible, distressed way from the backyard that afternoon, which prompted the 56-year-old woman to rush outside to see what was wrong. She was shocked to find her 15-lb. dog caught in the stranglehold of an 8-ft. python, which was slowly coiling itself around Tammy in a bid to kill her.

And that’s when van Bovene started yelling for help. “Nobody was responding to my screaming, and in a split second, I just knew I had to get the snake off my dog,” van Bovene, of Bushland Beach, Australia, t “I literally pulled and pulled and pulled on the snake’s tail. I didn’t stop to think of my own safety, I just knew there was no way in hell was I letting this python eat my dog!'”

Somehow, without any tools or aid, just her own adrenaline-fueled strength, van Bovene wrested the cold snake off of her yelping dog. She can’t say how long it took because the experience seemed to happen in a blur. “When I pulled that final pull, it sounded like fabric ripping,” van Bovene says. “When I went to the vet, the snake’s tooth was lodged in Tammy’s chest. I ripped the snake’s tooth out! After I did it, my whole body just shook.”
More

Jorge Garcia's Chihuahua Nunu Dies

With the end of Lost comes another end for actor Jorge Garcia: the loss of his precious Chihuahua Nunu.Garcia, who played Hugo/Hurley on the series, posted to his blog, Dispatches from the Island, to announce the sad news on Monday.

“It breaks my heart to tell you that yesterday as we were preparing to all go to the airport Nunu was struck by a car as she crossed the street,” Garcia wrote. “She died in my arms.”Garcia, who was not available for comment, chronicled Nunu’s adventures frequently on the blog, posting photos of his black-and-brown “chiweenie” chewing on toys, sheets, and sometimes even Garcia’s nose. Garcia wrote that in 2005, he had been thinking about rescuing a dog from a Hawaii Humane Society, but a stop at a local pet shop brought about a change of plans. It seems his heart couldn’t resist little Nunu.
More